The South African government recognises the contribution of the film industry to the national economy. Various incentives are available to local and foreign film production houses to boost the industry and promote the country as a film-friendly destination. The dti has created various incentive packages to boost local job creation, enhance South African creative and technical skills, and to promote the country internationally as a desirable film location.

We have included a summary of the available incentives here. For more details on each, please visit the DTI website, and their pages relating to financial assistance: 

South African Film and Television Production and Co-Production Incentive 

Foreign Film and Television Production and Post-Production Incentive 

South African Emerging Black Filmmakers Incentive

South African Revenue Services’ (SARS) Section 12O tax rebate

South Africa is also a signatory to co-production treaties with nine other countries to support productions that are being delivered by teams comprising both local and international professionals. The treaties are held with Germany, United Kingdom, Canada, Italy, New Zealand, Australia, France, The Netherlands and Ireland. For more information about the co-production treaties, please see the National Film and Video Foundation’s website.